One L(ove)

December 19, 2008

Day of the Lords

Filed under: Uncategorized — galileehitchhiker @ 3:34 am
Tags:

Just came back from the work party commemorating the tenth anniversary of the law firm’s existence (It was held at the Glen Head Country Club, a small yet cozy place full of warmth. Despite it being such a nice place, it was definitely hard to find. I came an hour and thirty minutes late because I couldn’t find it. I swear to you that I kept on driving circles. The GPS (what I affectionately like to call “Goddamn Piece of Shit”) kept on telling me to make U-turns and when I did, it would always say that I just missed the place. This vicious cycle lasted for a whole hour. Honest to God, I thought I was in The Twilight Zone. Remember the episode where that guy sat in the train and he would always stop at the same station, no matter what he did? That was me. When I finally arrived, I saw that everyone was there. How embarrassing! I found out that they announced my name so I can be introduced to the families of the attorneys and staff members of the firm. Heads turned to look for me, haha. Even more embarrassing! It kind of struck me as funny because it’s not that different from the work setting where my boss calls for me on the speaker and I’m walking around outside, aimlessly, in Mineola. Also, all the men were dressed in suits and the women in dress. For those of you who know me personally, don’t worry, I didn’t wear my corduroys, I tucked my shirt in, and also combed my hair, although I did look like a lost, starving poet, plagued by storms, amongst comfortable lords. I had a really good time though. I played blackjack all night and won $3700 (sadly, it wasn’t real). I met the wives, husbands, boyfriends, and girlfriends of attorneys and staff members and they were all really nice. One of them, a wife of one of the counsel attorneys (who by the way, studied in Paris during 1968!…I have yet to ask him about it), said she heard so much about me. Michael, one of the youngest associates in the firm, told me that all I need to know from law school for purposes of practicing law is to learn how to do research. That’s it. How awfully true. I had a great time but something within me kept my eyes darting towards the open doors – hoping, just hoping, but never came…

Guess what? I’ve got my first case from the Unemployment Action Center. The hearing for my client is on Tuesday at 10 a.m. in Garden City. Although I’m not going to talk about the details of the case, I do hope I get over this anxious feeling. I did well in keeping myself composed while taking my finals, but this is totally different. This is the first case of my legal profession and someone’s interests are at stake and it all depends upon me to make her win the unemployment benefits. So much rests on your shoulders. Tomorrow I’m going to give my client a call. Saturday, make the first interview. Saturday night and Sunday, hit the books and do research, develop a strategy, blah blah blah. Monday, go to the Department of Labor in Garden City to review and study in depth my client’s file to see if she hasn’t left anything out, and also go over with the client any last things. Tuesday, judgment day. It’s incredibly nerve-racking, yet extremely exciting! Wish me luck!

By the way, I saw The Jane Austen Book Club. I was disappointed with the film but it nevertheless inspired me to pick up Austen’s book Pride and Prejudice. I’ve never read it before but look forward to enjoying it.

Currently listening to: Mission of Burma – The Obliterati

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

