One L(ove)

November 17, 2008

Reading List for Winter Break

Filed under: Uncategorized — galileehitchhiker @ 11:57 pm
Tags:
Lilya Brik shouting Books

Lilya Brik shouting "Books"

Just came back from the bookstore and while there, looked through the journals of Allen Ginsberg. In some of his entries, he wrote down lists of books he wanted to read or had read during particular months. I thought it was neat. As the winter break approaches, here are the books piled next to my bed:

Go Tell It on the Mountain – James Baldwin

Naked Lunch – William S. Burroughs

Mother Courage and Her Children – Bertolt Brecht

Waiting for Godot – Samuel Beckett

Dubliners – James Joyce

Lawyerland – Lawrence Joseph

The Sonnets – Ted Berrigan

Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror – John Ashbery

The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry – edited by J. D. McClatchy

Overcoming Law – Richard Posner

Discipline & Punishment – Michel Foucault

History of Sexuality: An Introduction (Volume I) – Michel Foucault

The Road to Serfdom – F. A. Hayek

The Protestant Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism – Max Weber

The Wordly Philosophers: The Lives, Times, and Ideas of the Great Economic Thinkers – Robert L. Heilbroner

No Logo – Naomi Klein

The Bretheren: Inside the Supreme Court – Bob Woodward & Scott Armstrong

A Life of H. L. A. Hart: The Nightmare and the Noble Dream – Nicola Lacey

My First Summer in the Sierra – John Muir

Jazz: A History of America’s Music – Geoffrey C. Ward & Ken Burns

There’s no way in God’s good name that I can finish all these books in 3 weeks. But if I could get through most them, I will be impressed. Next semester, no matter what, I have to read at least one book in conjunction with my reading for school. Can a man ask for anything more than some precious time to himself?

Currently listening to: Joy Division – Unknown Pleasures

2 Comments »

  1. If you can get through all of those books in three weeks, then you’ll be my hero :). I’m trying to read a book a week for the next year, and if I can do that then I’ll be quite impressed. You’re putting me to shame. Good luck!

    http://www.fourbooksamonth.wordpress.com

    Comment by Phil Sharp — November 18, 2008 @ 2:03 am | Reply

  2. haha…Thanks, Phil! I greatly appreciate it. It seems unlikely that I can read them all but some of the books are really small that I hope I can breeze right through them and get most of the books on the list read by January.
    By the way, that’s a great personal project you’re doing. I had a similar plan during the summer and it was really fruitful. With utmost luck with that!

    Comment by galileehitchhiker — November 18, 2008 @ 3:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

